Michigan Anti-drug Laws and License Revocation
Michigan anti-drug laws are tough; there is no doubt about it. At Grabel & Associates, we know that any time an individual is convicted of a drug offense, mandatory license suspension occurs, regardless of whether you were driving at the time you were arrested. It is a penalty that applies to all who are convicted of any drug crime.
A first conviction for an individual with no prior drug violations will lead to a suspension of your driver's license for six months; you cannot apply for a restricted license during the first 30 days of that suspension. If you have been convicted of one or more drug offenses within a seven-year time frame, you will face a one-year suspension of your license; you cannot obtain a restricted license during the initial 60 days of that suspension.
License Revocation a Consequence Often Unknown by Individuals Facing Drug Charges
Most people who are facing drug charges consider penalties such as fines and possible prison time, never realizing that their driver's license may be suspended or revoked. While this may seem minor in comparison to other penalties, having your license suspended for an entire year can seriously impact not only your life, but your career.
To further complicate things, Michigan's anti-drug laws make it so that regardless of the severity of the drug crime you are accused of, you will face mandatory license suspension. Essentially, it makes no difference if you were convicted for possession of marijuana or a more serious drug such as heroin, or whether the charge was a misdemeanor or felony - your license will be suspended.
How did this all come about? Years ago, Michigan state legislature was not satisfied with the fact that most individuals who were charged with drug possession did not go to jail. Probation was not considered harsh enough punishment. Ultimately, it was determined that any individual who was accused of drug possession and convicted, and who was not sentenced to jail time would have his or her driver's license suspended; this provision was written into law.
Consult With an Experienced Michigan Drug Crime Attorney
Along with license suspension or revocation, you will pay a driver's license reinstatement fee of $125 to have your license restored. In any event, depending upon whether your license is suspended for six months or one year, you will not be able to get a restricted license for a minimum of 30 days or 60 days.
Why should you consult with an experienced Michigan drug crime attorney if suspension of your license is mandatory when convicted of a drug offense? There is still light at the end of the tunnel; because suspension is only imposed for a conviction, a plea agreement could actually help you avoid having your license suspended, although this is not the best solution in every situation. Only an experienced lawyer can help determine the best course of action to take in your unique case.
Contact Grabel & Associates today at 1-800-342-7896 for a free evaluation of your case. We give every client the personal attention they deserve, always striving for the best possible outcome. Contact us now.